Dine & Dash Diaries

Tai Chi Greetings

Leave a comment

It’s Thursday! I can tell my college mindset hasn’t completely faded as I still think of Thursday as “mug night,” AKA when my friends and I went to Cafe Beaudelaire (or Cafe B, as everyone calls it) for $5 long islands, followed up by a big mug of whatever was cheap at Sips. It hasn’t even been two months since I moved and I already miss it! My friends are still in school, though, so I’m sure I’ll make it back up for a good mug night when school starts.

All this talk of alcohol before 9 a.m. is making me feel weird. Let’s talk about normal morning things, like breakfast and running.

When I got out of bed this morning, I had no workout in mind. I knew I wouldn’t be able to get into the gym (damn key!), so instead I scrolled through some workouts on the Workout Trainer app I recently downloaded on my phone.

Image

I liked the interface—very easy to use, with time, intensity, and “number of likes” listed next to each workout. I also liked the voice feature: a trainer of your choice talks you through each exercise and tells you how much time you have left.

Image

I chose the “Upper Body Pusher” workout since I did abs and legs (sort of…those Frog Jumps killed me!) yesterday. I liked some of the exercises, including tricep dips and plank walks, but I felt like I worked my abs just as much—if not more—than my “upper body.” Since my abs are sore from yesterday’s workout, I wasn’t too into the idea of another core workout (read: doing a right plank, regular plank, left plank, regular plank, then an elbow plank to end the workout!), but I’m willing to give the program another try since it’s backed by several CPTs and health media outlets.
The workout was only 12 minutes, so I headed out for a brief run afterwards. I took a more residential route today (still finding the best one!) and happened to pass an interesting sight: an older Asian gentleman doing Tai Chi in his driveway, about 3 feet from the sidewalk. I was confused on what to do when I approached. Should I say hi? He looks so peaceful. But I don’t want to be rude. I have to say hi. Or nod. Yeah. I’ll nod.

I got closer and made eye contact. “MORNING!” I yelled. It came out louder than I intended. He nodded, smiled, and continued his fluid motions.

Damn it. Why am I so loud? Should have nodded.

I continued on, turning at the end of the block so I could watch him as I ran. Is that creepy? Yeah, it’s totally creepy. Anyway, I ended up being directionally challenged enough to run into a circle drive I already knew existed, so I looped back around only to see Tai Chi Man in my path on the sidewalk, getting his groove on in backwards slow-motion. I moved to the street so as not to disturb him…and nodded as I ran by.

He nodded back and waved slowly over his head, like it was all part of his routine.

I think we’re friends now.

Surprisingly, I wasn’t that hungry when I got home. I also wasn’t in the mood to put much work into any sort of crazy meal…so I had dinner for breakfast. Yep. Some people think it belongs the other way around, but when you have a pan of enchiladas in the fridge and an egg waiting to be scrambled, you don’t mess with fate.

Breakfast enchiladas with grape tomatoes that were about to go bad.

Plus a side of kiwi and banana.

I had a little Starbucks Lime Refresher left from my work session at the coffee shop last night. I just tried one the other day—it’s made with real juice, green coffee and lime, so it’s although it’s a bit sugary, it’s a nice caffeinated alternative to coffee. But this morning, all the ice had melted and it wasn’t nearly as tasty anymore.

So I did what any normal person who thinks eating dinner for breakfast is normal would do. I added some orange juice. Voila! Breakfast, right?

Check This Out: Are Your Birth Control Rights Endangered?, pulled from the September 2012 issue of Women’s Health. I just started reading it on the way to work, so I haven’t finished it yet, but the intro page is pretty striking:

I don’t plan to talk politics on the blog (because let’s be honest, I don’t know much about it), but I do know access to birth control, Planned Parenthood and sex education are an integral part of family planning. I have pretty strong feelings on the topic, but we’ll see what the story says—maybe I’ll gain some insight into the opinions of those on the other side.
And now, a question unrelated to the above topic because I don’t want to start a war: What’s the strangest thing that’s happened to you on a run/walk?

I can’t think of anything much stranger than today, although I once feared for my life when a man in camo quietly emerged from the woods when I was trail running. I now (smartly) refuse to wear headphones when I’m not running in a public place.

Author: dinendashdiaries

A healthy living blogger in the heart of Iowa.

Comment

