Dine & Dash Diaries

Pollen, Pears and My First DNDD Post

Leave a comment

Hey guys! Thanks for taking the time to stop by DNDD. I’ve wanted to start a blog for a long time, and today I’m finally getting to it. I’m planning to post twice a day to talk about food, fitness and daily life. This first week may be a bit spotty as I’m simultaneously brainstorming, blogging, designing and figuring out how to set up my own domain. Anyway, let’s get to it:

This morning started with a quick 2.5 mile run around my neighborhood. My boyfriend Sam and I just moved to Des Moines a couple weeks ago, so it’s been fun running new routes around our apartment. If you’re anything like me, you tend to get stuck in a running rut when you live in the same place (for me, it was Iowa State/Ames) for a long time. I’m enjoying the “where should I go next?” internal debate because 1) it encourages me to run farther to see where I end up and 2) I’m not bored with the scenery yet.

Sam was just getting back from the gym when I was heading out and said it was a little chilly out. I got excited because I have exercise-induced asthma—more on that in another post—and often have trouble running in extreme temperatures (JULY, WHY DO YOU EXIST?!). But then he mentioned he saw on the news that the pollen was high and my excitement faded. I’m allergic to pollen, grass, weeds…basically everything in nature, so it’s pretty rare for conditions to be perfectly suited to my ridiculous breathing needs. But when they are, I feel so awesome.

I popped an allergy pill (sure, they take a while to kick in, but whatever) and hit the trail. The breeze felt nice, and today was the first day I didn’t have to purposely run through the sprinklers to cool off, but I could definitely feel the allergies kicking in. I refuse to bring my inhaler on short, non-race runs because I’m stubborn and like to pretend I don’t actually have asthma, so it’s a mystery how I would have fared without it. Mostly I was just happy to not be melting in the sun before 7 a.m.

Breakfast this morning was a new twist on my old staple: oatmeal. I usually have my oatmeal with some sort of fruit, plus granola, brown sugar, cinnamon and chia seeds. Today I added pears, raisins and instead of granola, a new-to-me cereal: Kashi Go Lean Original. Image

I’ve had the Go Lean Crunch and several other Kashi foods before, but I’ve never sprung for the plain ol’ original. I’m usually pretty enticed by “health food,” but I’ll admit was skeptical when I read the packaging. I can dig honey-toasted seven grains. Soy protein grahams? I mean, I like graham crackers. But “fiber twigs” that look like dog food? Not so much.

Image

But I was wrong. To my surprise (and to the delight of my wallet), the cereal provided a nice crunchy contrast to the oatmeal/pear mix. I haven’t tried it alone yet, but I bet it’d be nice with some berries and almond milk.

Check this out: The Women’s Health #Run10Feed10 race: run 10 kilometers, feed 10 hungry people in your neighborhood. Official races take place in metro areas this fall, but anyone anywhere can participate. The race encourages each participant to raise $100 toward their cause.

Have you taken part in a philanthropic race or athletic event before?

I participated in few Relay for Life teams in middle school and high school. RFL is an event in which participants raise a certain amount of money for each lap they walk or run, then the proceeds go to cancer research. My hometown has seen more than its fair share of cancer and was once the top RFL fundraiser in the country. It’s a big event and a special way to both remember those who lost their lives and celebrate the survivors.

I’m off to work. Have a good morning!

Author: dinendashdiaries

A healthy living blogger in the heart of Iowa.

Comment

